Credit card comparison table

FLD is not a lender or a credit broker and does not arrange credit. This is general information, not advice to borrow. Any representative APR shown is an example, not a personal quote: the rate you are offered depends on your circumstances and may be higher.

Important: This guide provides general information, not personalised financial advice. Financial products, rates and eligibility rules can change, so check the provider’s current terms before applying. You can check a firm’s details on the FCA Register.

Quick answer

This table compares ten credit cards from three UK banks, using the figures each bank showed on its own website on 3 October 2026. It covers balance-transfer, all-rounder, rewards and cashback cards.

Look at the whole cost, not just the 0% period: the transfer fee, the rate after the offer ends, and any monthly or annual fee.

Credit cards compared

CardTypePromotional offer or rewardRepresentative APRAccount feeBalance transfer fee
HSBC Balance Transfer Credit CardBalance transferUp to 36 months 0% on balance transfers25.9% APR (variable)No annual fee shown3.09% (min £5)
HSBC Purchase Plus Credit CardAll-rounderUp to 24 months 0% on purchases; up to 17 months on balance transfers24.9% APR (variable)No annual fee shown3.49% (min £5)
HSBC Rewards Credit CardRewardsReward points on eligible purchases26.9% APR (variable)See HSBC’s termsNot stated in summary
NatWest Purchase & Balance Transfer cardAll-rounderUp to 23 months 0% on purchases; up to 21 months on balance transfers24.9% APR (variable)£03.49%
NatWest Longer Balance Transfer cardBalance transferUp to 36 months 0% on balance transfers; 3 months on purchases24.9% APR (variable)£03.10%
NatWest Balance Transfer credit cardBalance transferUp to 11 months 0% on balance transfers; 3 months on purchases24.9% APR (variable)£00.00%
NatWest Reward credit cardRewards1% back in Rewards on supermarket spending, 0.25% elsewhere31.0% APR (variable)£24 (refunded with a Reward current account)Not stated in summary
Santander Everyday Long Term Balance TransferBalance transfer34 months 0% on balance transfers; 3 months on purchases24.9% APR (variable)£0 a month3.15% (min £5)
Santander All in One Credit CardAll-rounder with cashback15 months 0% on purchases and balance transfers; 0.5% cashback up to £10 a month29.8% APR (variable)£3 a monthNo fee
Santander Rewards Credit CardCashback3% cashback on petrol, everyday travel, eating out and takeaways in the first year; 0.25% on other purchases24.9% APR (variable)£0 a monthNot stated in summary

Figures as of 3 October 2026, taken from each bank’s own credit card pages. Representative examples are based on the assumed credit limit shown by each bank (£1,200, or £1,000 for the HSBC Classic card). Promotional periods can depend on the bank’s credit assessment, and the rate you’re offered may differ.

Who it’s for

  • People comparing credit cards from well-known UK banks
  • Anyone weighing a long 0% period against a lower transfer fee
  • Readers who want representative APRs and fees side by side

Who should skip it

These are general points to weigh up, not advice. You may want to look elsewhere if:

  • You’re struggling with existing debt — free help is available from charities such as StepChange, Citizens Advice and National Debtline
  • You want a full market comparison — this table covers three banks only

Full explanation

A balance transfer only saves money if you clear most of the debt during the 0% period. Divide the balance plus fee by the number of months to see the monthly payment you’d need, or use our credit card repayment calculator.

Rewards and cashback cards suit people who clear the balance every month. If you carry a balance, interest is likely to outweigh the rewards. See rewards credit cards and cashback credit cards.

Section 75 of the Consumer Credit Act can make the card provider jointly liable with the retailer for single purchases between £100 and £30,000.

Use a soft-search eligibility checker before applying — each bank linked above offers one — and avoid several applications close together.

The catch

The 0% periods shown are the maximums; many banks say the length you get depends on their credit assessment. Representative APRs are based on an assumed credit limit, and your own rate could be higher. Missing a payment can end a promotional rate early.

Check the live terms on each bank’s own site before you apply.

These go straight to each provider’s own website. They aren’t referral links and we don’t earn from them.

FAQs

Which card has the longest 0% balance transfer?

In this table, HSBC’s Balance Transfer Credit Card and NatWest’s Longer Balance Transfer card both show up to 36 months, as of 3 October 2026. The length you’re offered can depend on the bank’s credit assessment.

Is a no-fee balance transfer always cheaper?

Not always. A shorter 0% period with no fee can cost more overall if you can’t clear the balance before the offer ends.

What does representative APR mean?

It’s the rate at least 51% of accepted applicants are expected to get, based on an assumed credit limit. You may be offered a different rate.

Do these cards charge an annual or monthly fee?

Some do. In this table, NatWest’s Reward card shows a £24 annual fee and Santander’s All in One card a £3 monthly fee, as of 3 October 2026.

Are these links referral links?

No. They go straight to each bank’s own site, and we don’t earn from them.

Get our weekly email

The Friday Finance Lowdown — five minutes of the money stuff worth knowing.

Free to join. See our privacy policy for how we handle your email address.

Written by Steven — Editor, The Finance Lowdown

Fact checked by Angela — Editorial Reviewer

Last updated: · Next review: